Submissions are open for Guardian First Book Award 2014


09 May 2014
Self-published authors are eligible to enter the £10,000 award ...
Self-published authors are eligible to enter the £10,000 award
The Guardian First Book Award, now in its 16th year, is for writers in all genres, whether fiction (novel or short story collection), poetry or non-fiction.
Last year's winner was The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan.
Entries must be the author's first book published in print in English anywhere in the world, across any genre or imprint. Books in translation are eligible. All books entered must have a registered ISBN or equivalent, and should have publication dates between 1 January 2014 and 31 December 2014.
Submissions should be made by publishers, except in the case of self-published writers. Publishers may enter up to two books.
There is an administration fee of £150 per book.
The closing date is 6 June.

For all the latest publishing news, subscribe to Writing Magazine or download our app

Register and sign up for our newsletter for late-breaking news, more competitions and exclusive content

Content continues after advertisements