Writer funding: Scottish Book Trust Next Chapter Award 2020


17 July 2019
sbt_logo_black_for_print_-_sbt_and_partners-81198.jpg Scottish Book Trust
The award for unpublished writers over 40 includes a £2,000 bursary


The award for unpublished writers over 40 includes a £2,000 bursary

Scottish Book Trust's Next Chapter Award is for emerging writers over 40 developing a major piece of work towards publication standard, for whom finding time and space to write is challenging. The winner of the 2014 Next Chapter Award was Gail Honeyman, author of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

The Award provides a £2,000 bursary, nine months of mentoring from an author or industry professional, a two-week writing retreat at Moniack Mhor, training in PR, social media and performance, and opportunities to meet industry professionals.

The award is open to poets, novelists, short story writers, authors of narrative non-fiction and children's writers. To be eligible, authors must be over 40, based in Scotland, and must not have published a full-length novel, narrative non-fiction work or collection of short stories or poems.

Content continues after advertisements

The closing date is 18 September.

For full details see the website.


You're never too old to write a novel. Novelist Sarah Maine has wide words about the benefits of being an older writer.