Writer development: The Next Chapter Award


13 July 2017
next_chapter-02905.jpg Next Chapter Award
Scottish Book Trust's award supports a talented, unpublished Scottish writer over 40


Scottish Book Trust's award supports a talented, unpublished Scottish writer over 40

The winning writer will receive nine month's mentoring, arranged by Scottish Book Trust. They will also get a two-week writing retreat at Moniack Mhor and a bursary of £2,000.

Gail Honeyman, who won the inaugural Next Chapter Award in 2014, received a seven-figure publishing deal for her debut novel, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, which was published by HarperCollins in May. It is a Sunday Times bestseller, a BBC Radio Two Book Club Choice and film rights have been sold to Reese Witherspoon's production company, Hello Sunshine.

'I was delighted to be selected as the first recipient of the Next Chapter Award. I received lots of incredibly useful, practical support and advice throughout the year, for which I'm very grateful. It was a fantastic experience,' said Gail.

The award is open to poets, novelists, authors of narrative non-fiction and children's authors who are over 40 and based in Scotland. Submitting writers should have a specific piece of work they want to develop to publication standard.

To submit, send personal details, a list of your writing experience to date (500 words), a personal statement (300 words) plus a project statement (200 words) and a writing sample (up to 2,500 words or 140 lines of poetry).

Content continues after advertisements

The closing date is 27 September.

For full details, see the website.




For all the latest publishing news, subscribe to Writing Magazine or download our app


Register and sign up for our newsletter for late-breaking news, more competitions and exclusive content