Writer development: Scottish Book Trust New Writers Awards 2025


07 June 2024
Selected writers will each recieve £2,500, a week-long writing retreat and tailored development opportunities

There are five categories in the Scottish Book Trust New Writers' Awards 2025:

• Fiction and narrative non-fiction

• Poetry

• Spoken word

• Children's and young adult fiction

• Scots

There are also two awards for Gaelic writers, a Callan Gordon Award for young writers of poetry or short fiction aged 18-35, and a Next Chapter Award to support an emerging writer over 40 in any of the five categories.

Content continues after advertisements

All applicants need to provide a details of writing experience, a personal statement, a proposal and a writing sample

Applicants for the New Writers' Awards must be over 18, based in Scotland, and committed to developing a career in writing. They must not have published a novel, narrative non-fiction book or collection of stories or poems, and must not currently be in formal education. Entries may be in English, Scots, or a combination of both. There are also two awards for Gaelic writers.

The closing date to apply is 31 July.

For full details, see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here