TV writing awards: Writers' Guild Awards 2017 shortlist


13 December 2016
Meera-Syal_web_1_jpeg-150x150-1-86586.jpg Meera Syal
The winners of the awards for TV scriptwriting will be announced by Meera Syal at a ceremony on 23 January


The winners of the awards for TV scriptwriting will be announced by Meera Syal at a ceremony on 23 January

Writers’ Guild Awards 2017 shortlist:

• Best Long Form TV Drama
Victoria, Series 1, Episode 4, “The Clockwork Prince” (Daisy Goodwin), Trapped (Clive Bradley), Spotless, Pilot Episode (Ed McCardie)
• Best Short Form TV Drama
Murder, “The Big Bang” (Robert Jones), And Then There Were None, Season 1, Episode 3 (Sarah Phelps), Ellen (Sarah Quintrell)
• Best Long Running TV Series
Doctors, Season 18, Episode 29 “There Is No Place” (Claire Bennett), Coronation Street, Episode 8946 (Chris Fewtrell), Emmerdale, Season 1, Episode 7628 “Holly's Death” (Karin Young)
• Best TV Situation Comedy
Plebs, Series 3, Episode 1, “The Beasts” (Tom Basden, Sam Leifer), People Just Do Nothing, Series 3 (Asim Chaudhry, Allan Mustafa, Steve Stamp), Fleabag, Episode 1 (Phoebe Waller-Bridge)
• Best Children’s TV Episode

Danger Mouse, Season 1, Episode 3 "Greenfinger" (James Griffiths, Mark Oswin), Hetty Feather, Series 2, Episode 10 "The Reunion" (Helen Blakeman), The Dumping Ground, Season 3, Episode 20 "Refuge” (Emma Reeves)
• Best Radio Drama
Fat Little Thing (Lucy Gannon), Cuttin' It (Charlene James), lament (Debbie Tucker Green)
• Best Radio Comedy
Guilt Trip (Katherine Jakeways, Felicity Montagu, Olivia Nixon), The Pin (Ben Ashenden, Alex Owen), John Finnemore’s Double Acts, Series 1, Episode 5, “English For Pony-Lovers” (John Finnemore)
• Best Writing in a Video Game
FIFA 17 “The Journey” (Martin Korda, Matthew Turner, Tom Watt), Virginia (Jonathan Burroughs, Lyndon Holland, Terry Kenny), Fragments of Him (Mata Haggis)
• Best Screenplay
The Survivalist (Stephen Fingleton), Suffragette (Abi Morgan), Eye in the Sky (Guy Hibbert)
• Best First Screenplay
Adult Life Skills (Rachel Tunnard), Radiator (Tom Browne, Daniel Cerqueira), Florence Foster Jenkins (Nicholas Martin)
• Best Play
Escaped Alone (Caryl Churchill), Cyprus Avenue (David Ireland), All The Little Lights (Jane Upton)
• Best Play for Young Audiences
What the Thunder Said (Ed Harris), This Changes Everything (Joel Horwood), Rise Up (Lisa Evans)

Presenter Meera Syal said: ‘Someone once said, probably a writer, that the writer is the only true originator of a script, everyone else that follows is merely an interpreter. Whilst the directors and producers slug it out, let’s at least agree that whilst everyone can have a great idea, it takes a great writer to bring it to life. And I’m very honoured to be hosting the WGGB Awards where we can come together to celebrate our extraordinary community of writing talent.’

Content continues after advertisements




For all the latest publishing news, subscribe to Writing Magazine or download our app


Register and sign up for our newsletter for late-breaking news, more competitions and exclusive content

Content continues after advertisements