Script competition: Liverpool Hope Playwriting Prize


31 March 2016
hope-playwriting-prize-71123.png hope
Win £10,000 and the opportunity to have your play considered for production by Liverpool’s Royal Court

One comedy writer will win £10,000 and the opportunity to have their play considered for production by Liverpool’s Royal Court, while up to two Highly Commended awards of £1,500 will also be on offer, in the Liverpool Hope Playwriting Prize.

This year’s judges are actor and comedian Les Dennis, playwright Amanda Whittington, editor of The Stage Alistair Smith, screenwriter and novelist Frank Cottrell Boyce, Liverpool Royal Court Chief Executive Kevin Fearon, comedian and last year’s winner Katie Mulgrew, playwright and critic Paul Allen, Liverpool Hope University theatre expert Dr John Bennett, and the Liverpool Echo’s Arts Editor Catherine Jones. The panel will read the shortlisted scripts and announce a winner in Spring 2017.

The competition closes on 31 May 2016.
Open to anyone over the age of 18 in any UK territory or the Republic of Ireland. There is a £20 entry fee.  

Content continues after advertisements

Scripts (in PDF or Microsoft Word format) should be uploaded to the Liverpool Hope University Online Store.

For full terms and conditions, see the website: