Novel prize: 2020 DRF Writers Award


06 August 2019
DRF-28079.png Deborah Rogers Foundation
Win £10,000 for an unpublished novel by a first-time writer


Win £10,000 for an unpublished book by a first-time writer

The biennial Deborah Rogers Foundation Award is for a first-time writer whose work shows outstanding literary talent. The winner gets £10,000 to complete their first book. Runners up will receive £1,000.

This year's judges are Ian Rankin, Max Porter and Sarah Perry. Applicants must not have previously published a full-length work of prose writing or be under contract to a publisher.

Submit the first 20,000-25,000 words of a work in progress, which may be fiction or non-fiction, plus a synopsis and biographical note.

Content continues after advertisements

Writers must write in English and reside within the British Commonwealth and Eire.

There is no entry fee. Each writer may submit one work only.

Submissions are open until 31 October.

For full details see the website.


Read about the most common clichés in writing – and how to avoid them – to ensure your prose writing is fresh and original!