Longlist announced for William Hill Sports Book of the Year award


30 September 2020
The winner of the sports writing prize will get £30,000

Following 2019's triple crown win by Duncan Hamilton, this year's longlist doesn't feature any previous winners.

The shortlist will be announced on 27 October, with each shortlisted writer awarded £3,000. The winner will be announced on 3 December.

The 2020 longlist is:

Born Fighter by Ruqsana Begum

A People's History of Tennis by David Berry

This is eSports (and how to spell it) by Paul Chaloner

Where There's a Will by Emily Chappell

The World Beneath Their Feet by Scott Ellsworth

The Unforgiven by Ashley Grey

Niki Lauda by Maurice Hamilton

• Surf, Sweat and Tears by Andy Martin

Content continues after advertisements

Fringes by Ben Mercer

The Farther Corner by Harry Pearson

Out of the Darkness: From Top to Rock Bottom: My Story in Football by Matt Piper & Joe Brewin

The Breath of Sadness: On Love, Grief and Cricket by Ian Ridley

The Rodchenkov Affair by Grigory Rodchenkov

Mud, Maul, Mascara by Catherine Spencer

The Russian Affair by David Walsh

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here