Forward Prize shortlists announced


08 July 2013
imports_WRI_0-zkiyslb4-100000_88671.jpg Forward Prize shortlists announced
The high-profile poetry award shortlists were revealed today ...
The high-profile poetry award shortlists were revealed today
‘This is a powerful year for poetry,’ said chair of judges Jeanette Winterson (pictured). ‘We made our choices looking for poems that used a lit-up
living language and had a sense of purpose.’ The Forward Prizes for Poetry shortlists are:
The Forward Prize for Best Collection (£10,000):
Her Birth, Rebecca Goss (Carcanet/Northern House)
Pluto, Glyn Maxwell (Picador Poetry)
Parallax, Sinead Morrisey (Carcanet)
The Havocs, Jacob Polley (Picador Poetry)
Drysalter, Michael Symmons Roberts (Cape Poetry)
The Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection (£5,000):
Dear Boy, Emily Berry (Faber)
She Inserts the Key, Marianne Burton (Seren)
Oswald’s Book of Hours, Steve Ely (Smokestack Books)
Chick, Hannah Lowe (Bloodaxe Books)
War Reporter, Dan O’Brien (CB Editions)
Accurate Measurements, Adam White (Doire Press)
The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem (£1,000):
The Doll’s House, Patience Agbabi (Poetry Review)
• Explaining the Plot of Blade Runner to My Mother Who Has Alzheimers, C.J. Allen (Troubadour International Poetry Prize)
The Metric System, Neil MacKinnon (The Warwick Review)
A seedy narrative or moments of lyrical stillness?, Rosie Shepperd (Smith/Doorstep)
From the Dialysis Ward, Hugo Williams (London Review of Books)
A young judges scheme is to be introduced in September, inviting students at GCSE and A Level stages to write critiques of selected poems on the shortlists.
The winners will be awarded their prizes by Jeanette Winterson at the Southbank Centre on National Poetry Day on 1 October.

For all the latest publishing news, subscribe to Writing Magazine or download our app

Register and sign up for our newsletter for late-breaking news, more competitions and exclusive content

Content continues after advertisements