CWA Dagger 2021 winners


02 July 2021
The winners of the leading crime writing awards were announced at an online ceremony

The 2021 CWA Dagger winners are:

Diamond Dagger: Martina Cole

Gold Dagger: Chris Whitaker, We Begin at the End

• Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: Michael Robotham, When She Was Good

John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger: Eva Björg Ægisdóttir, The Creak on the Stairs translated by Victoria Cribb

Sapere Books Historical Dagger: Vaseem Khan, Midnight at Malabar House

Crime Fiction in Translation Dagger: Yun Ko-Eun, The Disaster Tourist translated by Lizzie Buehler

Short Story Dagger: Monsters by Clare Mackintosh in First Edition: Celebrating 21 Years of Goldsboro Books

ALCS Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction: Sue Black, Written in Bone

Content continues after advertisements

Debut Dagger: Hannah Redding, Deception (highly commended: Fiona McPhillips, Underwater)

Dagger in the Library: Peter May

Publishers' Dagger: Head of Zeus

Margery Allingham Short Story Competition: Camilla Macpherson, Heartbridge Homicides


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here