Creative writing competition: The National Rhys Davies Short Story Competition


12 December 2020
The winner will receive £1,000 and their story will be published in an anthology by Parthian Books

Swansea University's Culturral Institute has relaunched the competition for Welsh writers.

The National Rhys Davies Short Story Competition is for the best original, unpublished short story under 5,000 words by a writer from, or living in, Wales. The winner will receive £1,000 and ten runners up will each win £100. The winning and shortlisted stories will be published by Parthian Books in an anthology in 2021.

The judge is author, essayist and Reader in Creative Writing at Birkbeck Julia Bell, whose latest book is Radical Attention.

Julia said: 'I’m honoured to be judging this prize, in memory of a writer like Rhys Davies whose work deserves to be much better known and recognised as a part of the LGBTQ canon. He was a master of the short story form, and this prize in an opportunity for writers in or from Wales to gain publication and recognition. I look forward to reading the submissions.'

The entry fee is £8 per story.

Content continues after advertisements

The closing date is 22 March.

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here