Creative writing competition: BBC National Short Story Award


11 December 2017
bbcnssa2018-32314.jpg BBC NSSA 2018
The 2018 Award is open for entries from today, and has a £15,000 first prize


The 2018 Award is open for entries from today, and has a £15,000 first prize

This year the BBC National Short Story Award, which is for short stories up to 8,000 words, is being run in association with Cambridge University. To be eligible to enter, writers must be British nationals and UK residents with a record of prior publication in the UK. In addition to the £15,000 first prize, four further shortlisted writers will each get £600.

The judges for the 2018 BBC National Short Story Award with Cambridge University are Mel Giedroyc, Sarah Howe, Benjamin Markovits, KJ Orr and Di Spiers.

Each writer may enter one story, which must be original and either previously unpublished, or be first published, or scheduled for publication, after 1 January 2017.

Entries may be submitted by authors, or by agents and publishers on the author's behalf.

Entry is free. All entries must be submitted by 12 March.

Content continues after advertisements

For full details see the website.



For all the latest publishing news, subscribe to Writing Magazine or download our app


Register and sign up for our newsletter for late-breaking news, more competitions and exclusive content