Costa category winners announced


07 January 2014
imports_WRI_0-320db93t-100000_07061.png Costa category winners announced
The category winners have been announced of the 2013 Costa Book Awards. ...
The category winners have been announced of the 2013 Costa Book Awards
The five category winners, who each win £5,000, will now compete for the overall Costa Book of the Year Award. They are:
Novel of the year: Life After Life, Kate Atkinson (Doubleday)
Poetry: Drysalter, Michael Symmons Roberts (Faber)
First novel: The Shock of the Fall, Nathan Filer (HarperCollins)
Biography: The Pike, Lucy Hughes-Hallett (Fourth Estate)
Children’s book: Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse, Chris Riddell (Macmillan Children's Books)
‘Our judges have selected five superb books that readers of all tastes are going to really enjoy,’ said Christopher Rogers, managing director of Costa. ‘Many congratulations to all of this year’s category Award-winning authors. Selecting just one of these terrific titles for the Costa Book of the Year will be a tough task but it will certainly make for an exciting awards ceremony.’
The overall winner of the £30,000 Costa Book of the Year Award will be announced on 28 January.

For all the latest publishing news, subscribe to Writing Magazine or download our app

Register and sign up for our newsletter for late-breaking news, more competitions and exclusive content

Content continues after advertisements