Costa Book and Short Story Awards winners 2020


27 January 2021
Monique Roffey wins the Book of the Year Award

The 2020 Costa Book Award winners are:

Book of the Year Award and Costa Novel Award: Monique Roffey, The Mermaid of Black Conch: A Love Story

First Novel Award: Ingrid Persaud, Love After Love

Biography Award: Lee Lawrence, The Louder I Will Sing

Poetry Award: Eaven Boland, The Historians

Content continues after advertisements

Children's Book Award: Natasha Farrant, Voyage of the Sparrowhawk

Costa Short Story Award: Tessa Sheridan, The Person Who Serves, Serves Again


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here


Content continues after advertisements