Comedy Women in Print Prize 2020 winners announced


15 September 2020
The online ceremony took place in the garden of prize founder Helen Lederer last night

The Prize is for comic novels written by women.

The 2020 winners are:

Published Comic Novel: Nina Stibbe for Reasons to be Cheerful

Humorous Graphic Novel: Jointly awarded to Posy Simmonds for Cassandra Darke and Danny Noble for Was It... Too Much For You?

Unpublished Comic Novel: Tinker, Tailor, Schoolman, Spy by Faye Brann. Faye wins a £5,000 advance and a publishing contract from HarperFiction. 

Content continues after advertisements

The Witty Woman of the Year Award went to screenwriter, actor and novelist Ruth Jones, and Mavis Cheek was awarded the CWIP Recognition award in honour of her career as a funny writer that spans more than 30 years.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here