2020 CWA Daggers winners


23 October 2020
The Crime Writers' Association has announced the winners of its prestigious annual Dagger Awards

Writer Barry Forshaw, MC for the Dagger Awards evening, which took place online on 22 October, said: 'The CWA Dagger Awards are the most prestigious prizes in crime fiction, and this year has furnished a particularly strong set of books and authors. Nothing dampens the excitement of the Daggers – not even pandemics!'

The winners are:

• GOLD DAGGER: Michael Robotham: Good Girl, Bad Girl (Sphere); Lou Berney: November Road (Harper Fiction) – Highly Commended

• IAN FLEMING STEEL DAGGER: Lou Berney: November Road (Harper Fiction)

• JOHN CREASEY (NEW BLOOD) DAGGER: Trevor Wood: The Man on the Street (Quercus Fiction)

• SAPERE BOOKS HISTORICAL DAGGER: Abir Mukherjee: Death in the East (Harvill Secker)

CRIME FICTION IN TRANSLATION DAGGER: Hannelore Cayre: The Godmother, translated by Stephanie Smee (Old Street Publishing)

Content continues after advertisements

SHORT STORY DAGGER: Lauren Henderson: #Me Too in Invisible Blood, edited by Maxim Jakubowski (Titan Books)

• ALCS GOLD DAGGER FOR NON-FICTION: Casey Cep: Furious Hours (William Heinemann)

• DAGGER IN THE LIBRARY: Christopher Brookmyre

• DEBUT DAGGER: Josephine Moulds: Revolution Never Lies; Anna Caig: The Spae-Wife - Highly Commended



For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here