08/05/2019 Share this story   Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

The Testament of Leofric the Black by Edward Cartwright Beard

702256b1-33ed-4c79-be38-b7267877e8af

1066 - Arguably the most famous date in English his­tory. 

The Norman conquest of England. How did it happen? What were the circumstances that led to such events? How did around seven thousand Normans and their allies conquer a na­tion of over two million people? Leofric knows, he was there!

The year is AD 1071. William the Conqueror and his Norman army have taken the Isle of Elig. After eighteen months of bloody siege, someone showed them the way through the secret paths of the treacherous marshes. Leofric the Black, one of a few who have escaped has been accused of being that traitor. He writes this account to prove his innocence.

The son of a Saxon thegn, Leofric is born with a club foot. He is a disappointment to his father who yearns for a strong warrior son to become the heir of his estates. On hearing his father tell someone that he thinks he was given the wrong son, Leofric vows to become the man his father yearns for and not the priest most say is his destiny.

The fractured English Church is at loggerheads with Rome, and jealous earls and ambitious thegns are vying for control of England with the most powerful family in the land, the Godwins. Watching these divisive events unravel are power hungry rulers from the west and north of Britain, Norway and Normandy, eager to seize the English crown.

Purchase your copy by clicking this link.

Back to Bookshop

08/05/2019 Share this story Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

Recent Bookshop

Scared to Breathe, by Kerena Swan

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of authors like Clare Mackintosh, Cara Hunter and Shalini Boland ...


My Lady Marian, by Iris Lloyd

Marian’s hands trembled as she knelt on the scaffold to tuck Queen Anne Boleyn’s long dark hair into a black ...


Seagulls over Westminster by Richard Wade

A political thriller for our time, with a strand of gentle humour woven through it, making this intriguing ...


Masquerade by Kitty Cooper

When Mikim Var arrives at the slave fair at Trhaan there is only one thing on his mind; that he be bought by ...


Other Bookshop in this category

Scared to Breathe, by Kerena Swan

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of authors like Clare Mackintosh, Cara Hunter and Shalini Boland ...


My Lady Marian, by Iris Lloyd

Marian’s hands trembled as she knelt on the scaffold to tuck Queen Anne Boleyn’s long dark hair into a black ...


Seagulls over Westminster by Richard Wade

A political thriller for our time, with a strand of gentle humour woven through it, making this intriguing ...


Masquerade by Kitty Cooper

When Mikim Var arrives at the slave fair at Trhaan there is only one thing on his mind; that he be bought by ...