16/11/2018 Share this story Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

Romantic Novelists Association new diversity initiatives



The RNA is launching ten new bursaries to encourage romantic novelists from under-represented backgrounds

Seven new Writer Diversity and Inclusion Bursaries will fund places on the RNA's New Writers' Scheme. Five will be for writers from any background currently under-represented in publishing. Two will be specifically for writers on a lower income or from a working-class background.

New Writers' Scheme co-ordinator, Imogen Howson, said: ‘The NWS is invaluable to aspiring authors. Every year we're able to celebrate when members achieve their first publishing contract – or when they receive advice or encouragement at just the right point in their writing journey. I'm excited that, due to these new bursaries, we can now extend the opportunity to join even more widely.'

The bursaries are funded by sponsorship from MBA Literary Agency, the Kate Nash Literary Agency, RNA members and authors Rachel Dove, Jean Fullerton, Milly Johnson and an anonymous donor.

Rachel Dove said: ‘Being a working class writer myself, and having got my first publishing deal through entering a competition, I know how hard it can be to juggle writing aspirations alongside the need for paid regular work and the restraints of raising a family or caring for family members. I hope that my bursary will leave a legacy for my family to be proud of, and give an aspiring writer the chance to follow their dreams, and write the book within them.'

Two further bursaries will fund attendance at the RNA's annual conference, and one bursary will be for a romantic fiction author experiencing mid-career difficulties.

All the bursaries are open for applications, with full details available on the RNA website.

• The RNA has also announced its Industry Award winners (pictured with RNA chair Nicola Cornick and vice-chair Alison May). These are: Librarian of the Year: Sharon Hunt from Kingswinford Library, Dudley; Romantic Bookseller of the Year: Waterstones, Truro; Media Star of the Year: Kaisha Holloway from The Writing Garnet blog; Agent of the Year: Amanda Preston from LBA; Publisher of the Year: Avon Books.



For all the latest publishing news, subscribe to Writing Magazine or download our app


Register and sign up for our newsletter for late-breaking news, more competitions and exclusive content


16/11/2018 Share this story Share on Facebook icon Share on Twitter icon Share on Pinterest icon Share on Google Plus icon Share on Linked In icon Share via Email icon

Recent Updates

Creative writing prize: Farnham Flash Fiction Competition

Win prizes in the fiction competition that's part of Farnham Flash Festival ...

Writer development: Killer Women Mentoring Scheme

Four emerging female crime writers from BAME and working-class backgrounds will be offered expert mentoring ...

Scholarship: Tuscany Writing Retreat

The first Free With Words Scholarship offers a place on the 2019 Novel, Short Story and Memoir retreat in ...

Short story competition: Write for Dr Who

Your chance to submit a Doctor Who story idea for audio production as a Big Finish Short Trips Adventure ...

Other News

Win £20,000 in the Kindle Storyteller Award!

The prize, open to authors who publish new books via Kindle Direct Publishing, is open now ...

Granta: Submission window

Submissions of fiction, non-fiction and poetry are being accepted by the leading literary journal ...

Creative writing competition: The 2019 Büro BDP Writing Prize

The winner will receive €1,000 and the opportunity to publish a book with Broken Dimanche Press ...

Call for submissions: Solstice Shorts Festival

Arachne Press invites submissions on the festival's theme of Time and Tide ...