Poetry prize: The National Poetry Competition 2021


01 August 2021
The world's most prestigious prize for a single poem has a first prize of £5,000

The international competition from the Poetry Society for single poems has prizes of £5,000, £2,000 and £1,000. Commended poets each get £200.

This year's judges are Fiona Benson, David Constantine and Rachel Long.

The Peggy Poole Award runs alonside the main competition, and is a talent scheme for poets from the North West entering the National Poetry Competition. The prize is mentoring from a leading poet who will judge the award.

Enter original, unpublished poems up to 40 lines.

The entry fee is £7 for the first poem in a submission, and £4 for any other poems in the same submission.

Content continues after advertisements

The closing date is 31 October 2021.

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here