Creative writing prize: The DRF Writers Award 2023


16 January 2023
The competition for first-time prose writers has a £10,000 prize

The DRF Writers Award from the Deborah Rogers Foundation for writers within the British Commonwealth and Eire invites submissions of 15,000-20,000 words of a work in progress, which may be fiction or non-fiction, by debut UK authors. To be eligible, writers must not previously have published or self published a full-length prose book, and must not be agented or under contract to a publisher. Entrants may have published a poetry collection.

The winner will receive £10,000 and each runner up will receive £1,000. This years judges are Abdulrazak Gurnah (Chair), Claire Adam and Annalena McAfee.

Include a synopsis and brief biographical note with each entry.

Content continues after advertisements

The closing date is 31 March.

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here