Creative writing prize: The 2021 DRF Writers' Award


07 April 2021
The £10,000 Award for a new writer has been brought forward from 2022 to 2021 because of lockdown

The biennial DRF Award from the Deborah Rogers Foundation supports a previously unpublished prose author of fiction, non-fiction, short stories or writing for children. The winning author will receive £10,000. Two shortlisted writers will each receive £1,000. The judging panel is chaired by Colm Tóibín and includes Deepa Annapara, Ingrid Persaud and Anna James.

The Award was next scheduled to run in 2022, but has been brought forward a year.

Gill Coleridge, Founder of the DRF, said: ‘Deborah was passionate about supporting new writers and so, in the spirit of this prize set up in her memory, we want to help them towards publication now rather than wait another year. I hope this opportunity will help the longlisted and winning writers become as successful as the roll call of previous DRF winners is proving to be.' 

The enter, writers must be citizens of a British Commonwealth country or Eire, and must not be under a contract with a publisher or literary agent. Submit the first 15,000-20,000 words of a work in progress. Include a brief synopsis and a biographical note.

The closing date is 1 July.

Content continues after advertisements

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here



Content continues after advertisements