Creative writing competition: The Rubery Book Award 2024


30 September 2023
The annual international prize is for books by indie and self-published writers and independent presses

The winner of the book of the year category will receive £2,000, with £200 for each category winner.

All entries must be books that were either independently or self published. Authors and publishers may enter. Printed books and ebooks are both accepted, and there are no publication date restrictions. The categories are fiction, young adult, children's, biographies, non-fiction, self-help, cookery, poetry, photography.

The 2024 judges are Paul McDonald and Kerry Hadley-Price.

The entry fee for one book is £45/$70/€60/$88CAD/NZ$105.

The closing date is 31 March 2024.

Content continues after advertisements

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here