Creative writing competition: The New Media Writing Prize 2023-4


18 July 2023
The prize for digital storytelling is inviting entries for this year's awards

The New Media Writing Prize is awarded annually for interactive new media writing – storytelling that is created specifically to be consumed via a PC or Mac, or a handheld device (ie tablet or smartphone) or online. Entries may be fiction or non-fiction, including novels, short stories, poems, documentaries, or transmedia works. Interactivity must be a key component and the judges will be looking for innovative use of digital media to create an involving narrative.

This year's award is in the following categories:

• The Chris Meade Memorial UK New Media Writing Prize: £1,000

• The Opening Up Award: £500

• The Digital Journalism Award: £500 and free membership of the FIPP

• The Student Award: TBC.

• The IDN for Social Good Award: £500

Content continues after advertisements

Each entry should include an active access code or URL to the work.

Entry is free.

The closing date is 1 February 2024.

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here


Content continues after advertisements