Creative writing competition: The Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2024


28 August 2023
Submissions open on 1 September for the annual contest with £5,000 for the overall winner

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded annually for the best piece of short fiction by a writer who is a citizen of any Commonwealth country.

A prize will be awarded to a story from each of the following regions: Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, the Caribbean, the Pacific. Regional winners will receive £2,500 and the opportunity to be published in Granta magazine and in a special print collection by Paper + Ink. Shortlisted storie are published in adda, the online magazine of the Commonwealth Foundation. The overall winner will receive £5,000.

Enter original, unpublished short fiction between 2,000 and 5,000 words, in any style or genre. Stories may be in English, Bengali, Chinese, Creole, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan and Turkish languages. Stories that have been translated from any language into English are also eligible.

Entry is free.

The closing date is 1 November.

Content continues after advertisements

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here