Creative writing competition: The Brick Lane Bookshop Short Story Prize 2022


21 February 2022
Win a £1,000 first prize in the annual contest funded by the independent Brick Lane Bookshop

The Brick Lane Bookshop Short Story Prize was set up in 2019 as a competition for short fiction by UK writers. It is intended to celebrate the short story form and the resilience of independent bookshops.

The winner receives £1,000 and there are second and thrid prizes of £250 and £100. Twelve longlisted stories are published in the Brick Lane Bookshop Short Story Prize anthology. The longlisted stories are judged by Granta editorial director Anne Meadows, writer Huma Qureshi and Aitken Alexander literary agent Chris Wellbelove.

Writers entering the contest may have had stories published in journals and anthologies, but must not have published an entire book of their own fiction.

Enter original, unpublished short stories between 1,000 and 5,000 words.

The entry fee is £10 per story.

Content continues after advertisements

The closing date is 19 April.

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here