Creative writing competition: The Aurora Prize 2020


01 April 2020
Win £500 in each of the poetry and fiction categories in the competition from Writing East Midlands

The Aurora Prize from Writing East Midlands is a national creative writing contest in two categories: poetry and short fiction.

For the 2020 prize, the poetry judge will be Helen Mort and the fiction judge, Mahsuda Snaith.

In each category there are first prizes of £500 and a session with Society of Authors staff. There are second prizes of £150 and third prizes of a one-day writing course of the winner's choice from Writing East Midlands.

Enter original, unpublished short stories up to 2,000 words and poems up to 60 lines.

The fee for the first entry is £9, and £7 for any further entries.

Content continues after advertisements

The closing date is 8 July 2020.

For full details see the website.

For all the latest publishing news, subscribe to Writing Magazine or download our app


Register and sign up for our newsletter for late-breaking news, more competitions and exclusive content

Content continues after advertisements