Creative writing competition: The 2022 Rhys Davies Short Story Competition


08 February 2022
The national writing contest is for short stories by writers born or living in Wales

The Rhys Davies Short Story Competition is run in honour of Welsh author Rhys Davies by Swansea University in association with the Rhys Davies Trust and Parthian Books.

The winner will receive £1,000. Eleven runners-up will each receive £100. Stories by the winner and finalists will all be included in a short story anthology published by Parthian Books. This year's guest judge is Rachel Trevise.

Enter original, unpublished short stories up to 5,000 words. All entrants must have been born in Wales, have lived in Wales for two years or more, or be currently living in Wales.

The entry fee is £8 per story.

The closing date is 22 March.

Content continues after advertisements

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here