Creative writing competition: Aurora Prize for Writing 2023


08 June 2023
The contest from Writing East Midlands is for poetry and short fiction

The Aurora Prize, run by Writing East Midlands in partnership with the Society of Authors, is a national and international competition for outstanding new poetry and short fiction.

The winner in each category will get £500 and feedback on their entry from a literary agent or editor, and a year's free membership of the Society of Authors. The second prize is £150, and the third prize is a day course from Writing School East Midlands. There are regional prizes of £100 in each category. This year's judges are author Joanna Cannon and poet Casey Bailey.

Entries must be original and unpublished, and may be on any theme or subject. Poems should be no longer than 60 lines, and short fiction up to 2,000 words.

The entry fee is £9 for the first entry and £7 for any subsequent entries.

The closing date is 19 July.

Content continues after advertisements

For full details see the website.


For more writing inspiration, subscribe to our bestselling monthly magazine and receive your first 3 issues for just £3. Claim this offer here